My Top Albums of 2020

I kinda slacked off on listening to new albums from artists I like as they came out this year, so I’m sure I’m missing something that should be on this list. However, here are my top albums from 2020. As usual, most of them are bluegrass/folk. I’ve included links to some of my favorite tracks as a sample!

Formations – Hawktail. I heard them perform most of this album live when they came through Minneapolis in 2019, so I was already hype for this album. It’s all instrumental gold and definitely became one of my cooking soundtracks. Favorite track: Last One on the Line (mostly because I can picture Dominick Leslie playing the mandolin part and looking so joyful)

Reunions – Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit. Ugh, I love Jason Isbell’s songwriting so much. I think this came out right after the murder of George Floyd, or at least close enough that the calls for action as a white person to actually *do something* about racial injustice really resonated with me in a way that I needed. Favorite Track:  Be Afraid

World on the Ground – Sarah Jarosz. Every song on this album is perfect. It’s such a good blend of hometown nostalgia and wondering what you’re doing in your life now. It’s hard to pick a favorite, but I’ll go with Johnny for the existential crisis

Not Our First Goat Rodeo – Goat Rodeo Sessions. Stuart Duncan, Yo-Yo Ma, Chris Thile, and Edgar Meyer (and Aoife O’Donovan) got back together to make more magic. I really hope that when it’s safe to tour again, they’ll come through the Twin Cities, because I’d love to watch this live. Favorite Track: Your Coffee Is A Disaster (mostly because of the story behind it).

Hearts Town – The War and Treaty. I first saw the War & Treaty perform live on Live From Here (RIP, thanks 2020…) a few years ago, and they are SO much fun. They have so much musical chemistry, and you can definitely hear it in this album. Favorite Track: Hey Pretty Moon

The Slow Rush – Tame Impala. This accidentally became my workout soundtrack in the second half of the year because it puts me in the right mood. I tried to pretend that Tame Impala is just okay for a while, but no. I love them. Favorite Track: Borderline

25 Trips – Sierra Hull. I don’t know how Sierra Hull makes the various existential crises of going through your 20s sound so beautiful, but she did it again. She’s also just such an amazing mandolinist. Favorite Track: How Long

FFVII Remake OST – Nobuo Uematsu and others. Yeah, I’m putting it on here even though I can’t find the actual soundtrack. The various updated versions of Nobuo Uematsu’s original score are the perfect blend of nostalgia and modernization, and I love the new tracks, too. Favorite Track: obviously the various incarnations of Aerith’s Theme punched me in the feelings every time, but I figured I’d do one of the new tracks for those who haven’t played this yet:  Hollow (Sector 5 Theme, also the ending credits theme)

Blue White Gold – Dreamers’ Circus. This album was the balm for a weary soul this year. I seriously needed this album to get through how rough everything was. I think my brain now associates Scandinavian fiddling with comfort. Every track is wonderful. It’s super hard to pick a favorite. I’ll go with The World Was Waiting but just listen to the whole album.

Hopefully music has helped you get through this year, too. If not, here are some suggestions. Let’s push forward for a better year ahead, even if we’re not out of the woods yet.

Leave a comment